Wall & Space e.V.

Who we are

We are an interdisciplinary team striving to make the world more colorful. We are convinced that the city is for everyone. Our actions activate, support and strengthen local people. We are a Halle city official of children and youth work.

What we do

Our work combines urban art and urban culture with education. We aspire to strengthen social cohesion and bring people together across generations. We use public space in our actions, because it is there for everyone and it’s where we can reach anyone – with workshops, interventions, lectures and concepts. 

How we work

We work at eye level: with young and older participants, with network partners, with artists, with funding bodies, with each other as a team – locally, regionally and internationally – and with you!

Projects

“Urban Seats” Street Furniture

Conception and realization of a workshop lasting several days with children and young people to design a piece of street furniture according to their wishes. The result is a 6×2.5 m wooden seating sculpture with different seating and reclining areas.

more info

ha:neo

A concept for art in public space in Halle-Neustadt, focussing on monumental murals that create identification with the district, its artistic history and urban society. In contrast to festivalized and arbitrary murals, ha:neo focuses on relevant artworks, intensive involvement of the artists, and creative participation formats.

more info

“SchuBeBaKo” Street Furniture

"SchuBeBaKo'' is an acronym of a very German word-formation that literally translates to wheelbarrow-flowerbed-bench-combination. They are mobile elements to quickly increase the quality of stay. Building and setting up the "SchuBeBaKos'' in public spaces breaks with the perception of such space as something passive and inflexible.

more info

Wonderful Women Wall

A monument to women and their achievements. The goal of the wall paintings is to make the stories, life plans and social contributions of women visible. In doing so, we encourage people to learn more about the women's biographies and their ideas and give them more appreciation.

more info

Artlantic Wall

8000 bunkers remain on the European atlantic coastline as an abandoned relic of World War II. The artistic transformation of these bunkers is about conserving heritage and history for the public, creating common narratives, but also about finding creative ways of dealing with contemporary challenges of migration, of Europe as a union and international relations.

more info

Summer School

Young people from various cities in central Germany responded to the call to "Make your own city!". They spent a week during the 2019 summer vacations taking part in workshops on topics related to urban appropriation and urban intervention. The results are structural and artistic changes to public space that reflect the participant’s ideal of a livable city.

more info

All You Can Plant

A building and planting festival for the Freiimfelde district in Halle! For one week, workshops, presentations and participatory activities enlivened the district and the community park. From a permaculture workshop to a car-free day on the main street, everything revolved around green and sustainable living in the city.

more info

Urban Glossary

The "Urban Glossary" is a reference work for all things related to work in urban spaces. We created it in 2019 as part of the "Green Urban Labs" research project of the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR).

more info

Wall & Space Congress

At the first international "Wall & Space Congress", 20 participants from seven countries came together with experts from urban development and urban research. They discussed the development, the current situation and the future of murals in public space, their limits and their potentials.

more info

Wall & Space e.V.

Wer wir sind

Wir sind ein interdisziplinäres Team, das die Welt bunter machen will. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass die Stadt für alle da ist. Unsere Aktionen aktivieren, unterstützen und stärken die Menschen vor Ort. Wir sind anerkannter freier Träger der Jugendhilfe.

Was wir tun

Wir bringen urbane Kunst und Kultur mit Bildung zusammen. Wir wollen den sozialen Zusammenhalt stärken und Menschen generationsübergreifend zusammenbringen. Wir nutzen in unseren Aktionen den öffentlichen Raum, denn der ist für alle da und da können wir alle erreichen. Mit Workshops, Interventionen, Vorträgen und Konzepten.

Wie wir arbeiten

Wir arbeiten auf Augenhöhe: Mit jungen und älteren Teilnehmenden, mit Netzwerkpartner*innen, mit Künstler*innen, mit Fördergeldgeber*innen, miteinander im Team – lokal, regional und international – und gerne auch mit Ihnen! 

Projekte

Urbane Sitzskulptur

Konzeption und Durchführung eines mehrtägigen Workshops mit Kindern und Jugendlichen um ein Möbelstück für den öffentlichen Raum entsprechend ihrer Wünsche zu gestalten. Ergebnis ist eine 6×2,5 m große Sitzskulptur aus Holz mit unterschiedlichen Sitz- und Liegeflächen.

Mehr Info

ha:neo

Ein Konzept für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum in Halle-Neustadt. Monumentale Wandbilder, die Identifikation mit dem Stadtteil, seiner Kunst und Stadtgesellschaft stiften. Im Gegensatz zu festivalisierter und beliebiger Wandmalerei setzt ha:neo auf relevante Kunstwerke, einen intensiven Einbezug der Künstler*innen und kreative Beteiligungsformate.

Mehr Info

SchuBeBaKos Freiraumlabor

“SchuBeBaKo” steht für Schubkarre-Beet-Bank-Kombination – ein mobiles Element zur schnellen Steigerung der Aufenthaltsqualität. Das gemeinsame Bauen und Aufstellen der “SchuBeBaKos” im Straßenraum bricht mit der Wahrnehmung des öffentlichen Raumes als etwas, das lediglich durchquert werden darf, und stärkt das Gefühl der Selbstwirksamkeit.

Mehr Info

Wonderful Women Wall

Ein Denkmal für Frauen und ihre Errungenschaften. Ziel der Wandgestaltungen ist, Geschichten, Lebensentwürfe und gesellschaftliche Beiträge von Frauen sichtbar zu machen. Dadurch regen wir dazu an, sich mit ihren Biographien und ihren Ideen zu beschäftigen und ihnen mehr Wertschätzung zukommen zu lassen.

Mehr Info

Artlantic Wall

8000 Bunker stehen als verlassene Relikte des Zweiten Weltkriegs an der europäischen Atlantikküste. Die künstlerische Transformation dieser Bunker soll die Geschichte für die Öffentlichkeit bewahren und gemeinsame Narrative schaffen. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, kreative Wege zu finden, um mit zeitgenössischen Herausforderungen umzugehen.

Mehr Info

Summer School

Dem Aufruf “Mach dir deine Stadt!” folgten Jugendliche aus verschiedenen Städten Mitteldeutschlands, um während der Sommerferien 2019 eine Woche lang in Workshops an Themen rund um Stadtaneignung und urbaner Interventionen zu arbeiten. Dabei herausgekommen sind bauliche und künstlerische Veränderungen des öffentlichen Raums, die ihre Sicht auf eine lebenswerte Stadt widerspiegeln.

Mehr Info

All You Can Plant

Ein Bau- und Pflanzfestival für Freiimfelde! Eine Woche lang belebten Workshops, Präsentationen und Mitmachaktionen den Stadtteil und den Bürger*innenpark. Vom Permakultur-Workshop bis zum autofreien Parking Day auf der Hauptstraße drehte sich alles um grünes und nachhaltiges Leben in der Stadt.

Mehr Info

Urbanes Glossar

Das “Urbane Glossar” ist ein Nachschlagewerk für alle Dinge rund um Arbeit im urbanen Raum. Wir haben es 2019 im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes „Green Urban Labs“ des Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung erstellt.

Mehr Info

Wall & Space Kongress

20 Teilnehmende aus sieben Ländern diskutierten auf dem ersten internationalen “Wall & Space Kongress” mit Expert*innen aus Stadtentwicklung und Stadtforschung über die Entwicklung, die gegenwärtige Situation und die Zukunft von Wandgestaltungen im öffentlichen Raum, ihre Grenzen und ihre Potentiale.

Mehr Info